I just found the site eMarketer which (according to them) do market research and trend analysis on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies.

So far I like what I see … and this is what I saw in just my first few minutes on the site:

Who finds Twitter more effective: Advertisers or consumers

I don’t know about you, but everywhere I go (conferences, departmental meetings, friends’ houses) everyone is going on and on about Twitter.  But not many co-workers (especially those in the late Baby Boomer/early Traditionalist years) understand the big fuss.

And according to eMarketer it’s not just my co-workers: For advertisers:

Only 11% of 18-to-39-year-old advertisers did not know enough about Twitter to have an opinion on its value, compared with 20% of advertisers ages 40 to 49 and 21% of those 50 and older.

Among Internet users:

55% of 18-to-34-year-olds said they were not familiar enough to have an opinion, compared with 80% of those 55 and older.

Since the majority of my co-workers are over 50 and most don’t know anything about Twitter, it seems this time the marketers got it right!

Here is the eMarketer’s graph:

emarketer-com

– How to Old, the Young and Everyone in between uses social networks

(Thanks to Stephen’s Lighthouse for putting me on the trail of this entry)

e Marketer’s findings correlate with the above post (sorry ’bout the italics – I can’t get it to turn off! grrr)

The majority of Twitter users are in their early 30’s late 20’s – Gen X:

Aviary emarketer-com Picture 2png

Aviary emarketer-com Picture 3