Like I mentioned before data visualisation sites interest me tremendously – I find it fascinating that you can convey complicated data in a simple visual image.

Thanks to Roy Tennant over at the Library Journal’s Digital Libraries blog I also know about Spezify.com

Here’s what Spezify is all about:

Spezify is a search tool presenting results from a large number of websites in different visual ways.

We take web search further, away from endless lists of blue text links and towards a more intuitive experience.
We want you to get a good overview of a subject,
find useful information and be inspired with Spezify.

We mix all media types and make no difference
between blogs, videos, microblogs and images.
Everything communicates and helps building the bigger picture.

We collect websites and are aiming to use as many relevant, free and open API:s as possible to generate extensive and diverse search results.

I tried Spezify first with my username (I tend to use the same username for all my social media, web adventures) and was quite suprised at the amount of data it showed me

Aviary spezify-com Picture 1From this screen shot you can see that you can also filter that data on display > requesting only images, text or video and you can also exclude certain websites.

Each of the images are live and by clicking on them you will be taken to that particular site.

Here is another shot I created with for the concept: mobile learning (another field I’m interested in)

Aviary spezify-com Picture 2

I think these types of visualisations (images, videos and text) can be used quite successfully in a website/blog to link students to particular websites or images. What do you think?