I just got back from speaking at two conferences – one was a university faculty conference and the other a library conference from the library I used to work at.

I spoke about the findings of my Masters’ studies on generational awareness in academic libraries in South Africa twice and co-presented a paper on using e-posters to teach research methodology to honors students. (I’ll try to post both presentations today or tomorrow)

It went really well, and this morning when I read Roy Tennant’s post Thoughts on Speaking where he mentions another post on “30 Quick Tips for Speakers (now 35!)” that gives a few tips on presenting and speaking I thought I’d add my 2 c worth:

2. The power is not the point – slides are there as navigation points, not to be the content – I couldn’t agree more! the presentations that resonated with me where the ones that were text light but the presenter was knowledgeable enough not to need a text heavy slide

4. There is a high demand for people who can both provide content and deliver it effectively from stage. Some can do one of the two, most don’t do either and a select few do both. Aim to be great. Amen! Great content can get lost/spoiled if the presenter can’t deliver well. Practice untill you find your presenting voice and don’t try to imitate somebody else’s style

15. Have passion for what you’re saying. If you don’t, your audience won’t either. I experienced this in all three my presentations. Because I was passionate about my topic and thought it was really interesting the audience responded very well too and ended up asking really interesting/thought-provoking questions

20. Change your presentation every time. Update stats, bring new examples. Own the content, not repeat it. I agree with this. Even though there was only one person in audience who attended both of my solo presentation I changed some of the slides, added some videos and cartoons and made sure that it looked and felt different and new

33. Tell great stories (your own, not someone else’s), and be funny. Don’t tell jokes, but use humor. (From Ava Diamond Site / Twitter) People respond better to you as a speaker if you can humanize yourself, so I always try to use humor (even at my expense) to show that I’m just a normal 30-year-old

I like presenting not just because I like to talk so much🙂 but because of the incredible feedback and vibes you get when presenting. It’s a chance to tell people “here’s what I did/think – what do you think about it” and that leads to some really interesting meetings and people!